Marijuana Possession and Casual Exchange
It is a crime to possess marijuana in Tennessee. Casual exchange up to and including one half an ounce of marijuana is also illegal. Penalties can vary according to the conviction, and increased penalties apply to offenses involving a minor. In addition to the penalties described below, a judge may order the defendant to participate in a drug offender school at the defendant’s expense, perform community service hours, or both.
Similar to Tennessee’s laws, under federal law, the possession and sale of marijuana remains illegal by way of the Controlled Substance Act. Regardless of what a state’s marijuana laws say, federal law will always override state law.
It is illegal to cultivate or possess marijuana with the intent to sell in Tennessee. Penalties vary according to the amount cultivated or sold, with increased penalties for sales to a minor or within a drug free school zone.
Casual exchange or possession
First and second convictions of marijuana possession, or exchanging up to and including half of ounce of marijuana (without payment for such), are classified as misdemeanors. Penalties include up to 1 year in jail, a fine of up to $2,500, or both.
Third and subsequent convictions
When the defendant has two or more prior possession or casual exchange convictions, the offense is considered a felony in the state of Tennessee. Penalties include between 1 and 6 years in prison, a fine of up to $5,000, or both.
A conviction for drug possession can have serious and lasting impact on your future. If you have been charged with possession of a controlled substance, it is important to understand the penalties you face, and the options you have. If you have been charged with a marijuana-related offense, consult an experienced Marijuana Possession Attorney today.