A DUI conviction doesn’t only affect just your record. A DUI carries with it the possibility of it affecting your job, your family, and your life. A DUI conviction on your record can haunt you for years to come.
In the state of Tennessee, most DUI offenses are charged as misdemeanors. A Second Offense DUI Nashville conviction within 5 years can result in the following penalties:
- 45 days to 1 year in prison
- $600 to $3,000 in fines, plus any restitution applicable
- Loss of license for 2 years with restricted license eligibility after 1 year
- Mandatory DUI school
- Ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for minimum of 6 months after your license is reinstated
- Vehicle confiscation
- Loss of license for up to 2 years if you refuse a blood test or breathalyzer
One of the consequences of being convicted of DUI in Tennessee is that you will most likely be ordered by the court to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. This equipment works similarly to a breathalyzer, meaning that you will have to provide a breath sample before you can start your car. Tennessee state law mandates that the device will be calibrated for a maximum allowable BAC of between 0.02% and 0.05%, at the discretion of the judge. If your breath sample is above that limit, your car’s ignition system will be disabled and you will not be able to start the vehicle.
If you fail to have the device installed, you will be subject to further criminal charges, above and beyond whatever misdemeanor or felony charges you received for the DUI conviction.
If you are charged with DUI, you have the right to legal defense. Criminal defense attorneys provide important assistance throughout your DUI case. Don’t try to go it alone – consult with an experienced DUI lawyer. Call us today to receive a consultation today!