The legal limit for an adult to in drunk driving cases is .08%. For someone under 18, the legal limit is .02% under the current Tennessee law. The legal limit is .04% for persons of any age driving a commercial vehicle.
In Tennessee, your first, second and third DUI charges within five years are all misdemeanors, with potential penalties increasing at each level. With a third offense DUI Nashville conviction within 5 years, the penalties increase to the following:
- 120 days to one year in jail
- $1,100 to $10,000 in fines, plus any restitution applicable
- Loss of license for three to 10 years with no eligibility for restricted license
- Confiscation of vehicle
- Mandatory DUI school
- Ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for minimum six months after your license is reinstated
One of the consequences of being convicted of DUI in the state of Tennessee is that you will most likely be ordered by the court to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your car. How it works is you have to provide a breath sample into the device before you can start your car. It is mandated by state law that the device has to be calibrated for a maximum allowable blood alcohol content of between 0.02% and 0.05%, at the judge’s discretion. If your breath sample is above the limit, your vehicle’s ignition system will be disabled and you will not be able to start the car.
Also, a judge can order restitution to any person you harmed in a DUI. Additionally, getting a driver’s license after a DUI involves many fees, including a $50 SR-22 insurance form, a $100 reinstatement fee, plus the usual vehicle registration and licensing fees.
A conviction for DUI does not merely affect your record. DUIs carry with them the possibility of affecting your life, your career, and your loved ones. A DUI conviction on your record can haunt you for years, causing complications with car insurance, job applications and more.